MSRP
$899.00

Frigidaire 17.0 Cu. Ft. 2-in-1 Upright Freezer or Refrigerator

32" W x 26-5/8" D x 65-7/8" H
FKCH17F7HW

27 reviews
American Pride Plug Type NEMA 5-15P

Plug Type NEMA 5-15P

Features

Convertible Freezer to Refrigerator

Convertible Freezer to Refrigerator

Select the option to use as an all freezer or all refrigerator when it's best for your needs.

ENERGY STAR® Qualified

ENERGY STAR® Qualified

Built with American Pride

Built with American Pride

Appliances that are high-performing, more accessible, and more innovative than ever—designed, built, and engineered in the U.S.A.

Bright Lighting

Bright Lighting

Our bright lighting makes it easy to see what’s inside.

Store-More™ Adjustable Door Bins

Store-More™ Adjustable Door Bins

Flexible storage options, with door bins designed to reposition with ease to fit your needs.

Frost-Free Operation

Never defrost your freezer again.

Adjustable Temperature Control

Adjustable Temperature Control

Select the correct temperature for your needs.

Color-Coordinated Handle

Color-Coordinated Handle

Reversible Door Swing option

Reversible Door Swing option

Specifications

General Specifications

  • Annual Cost (.1065 / kWH): 65
  • Annual Energy (kWH): 615
  • Frost Free: Yes
  • Interior Light: Yes
  • Leveling Legs: 2, Adjustable
  • Product Weight (lbs): 200
  • Temperature Range: 33 to 43°F (Refrigerator), -10 to 10°F (Freezer)
  • Power Type: Electric
  • Size: 17 Cu. Ft.
  • Installation Type: Free-Standing
  • Collection: Frigidaire

Freezer Specifications

  • Adjustable Door Bins: 4
  • Defrost: Frost-Free
  • Directional Airflow Ports: 1
  • Fixed Freezer Shelves: 1 Glass
  • Full-Width Adjustable Shelves: 2 Glass
  • Full-Width Door Bins: 1, White

Capacities

  • Total Shelf Area (Sq. Ft.): 17.6

Electrical Specifications

  • Amps @ 120 Volts: 5.0
  • Connected Load (kW Rating) @ 120V: 0.60
  • Minimum Circuit Required (Amps): 15A
  • Plug Type: NEMA 5-15P
  • Power Supply Connection Location: Right Rear Bottom
  • Voltage Rating: 120V, 60Hz

Certifications & Approvals

  • CSA Certified: Yes
  • CSA Rating: Household
  • ENERGY STAR® Certified: Yes

Exterior Dimensions

  • Case Depth: 24-3/8"
  • Depth with Doors (no Handles): 26-5/8"
  • Depth with Doors and Handles: 29-1/8"
  • Case Height: 65-1/8"
  • Height with Hinges and Covers: 65-7/8"
  • Case Width: 32"
  • Depth: 26-5/8"
  • Depth (with Door 90° Open): 57-1/2"
  • Height: 65-7/8"
  • Width: 32"

Controls

  • Adjustable Temp. Control: Yes
  • Control Location: Interior
  • Controls: Digital

Guides & Manuals

Complete Owner's Guide

Wiring Diagram

Product Specifications Sheet

Energy Guide

Feuille de spécifications du produit

27 Reviews

Average Rating

Write a review
  1. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Great Product

    By: JDB on 5/22/2014

    This freezer is great and like the fact that it can convert to a refrigerator. Also like the temp range on it. The only complaint I have is there is not a lock on it. The glass shelves are great too, much better than the wire shelves in most.
  2. Design
    Features
    Quality
    2nd time is good

    By: kittyd on 12/17/2013

    First one started to smell like fish and was freezing at the bottom and too warm on top. We are far from town and there were not any authorized repair providers, so they sent a new one. We did get the warranty this time
  3. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Love the Adaptable feature.

    By: Roberta on 10/7/2013

    We loved feature that this Upright Freezer that can convert in to a refrigerator so much we bought a 2nd unit for just that use. So far so good!
  4. Design
    Features
    Quality
    "Side-bySide"

    By: Dennis on 8/19/2013

    I run a music store, and my wife is a third grade teacher. It's a great concept for retailer and consumer alike! Pardon my musical pun, but "We ain't got a barrel onf money, maybe we're ragged and funny, but we'll travel along, singin' our song, side by side". We are replacing a 60" chest frezzer with these two standing models (one set as a freezer, the other a refrigerator), fitting in the same space. Heeding the comments below, I'm buying the extended warrarties. I am moving a baker's rack into the old refrigerator/freezer space. Hence, more kitchen space.
  5. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Happy with my Frigidaire Upright Freezer

    By: Rob on 8/13/2012

    I have had my Frigidaire Upright Freezer since the end of June 2012 and am very satisfied with it. This freezer has a very bright light to illuminate all frozen foods and is provided with wire baskets as well as wire shelves for plenty of storage. Also happy that I chose the model that has the temperature indicated on the door panel for quick viewing. Very happy that I chose Frigidaire as there are lots of choices out there.
  6. Design
    Features
    Quality
    good but noisy

    By: weezi on 8/10/2012

    I purchased to use as a fridge, but have needed it recently as a freezer. Seems to works well so far, but it is noisy.
  7. Design
    Features
    Quality
    does what it is supposed to do

    By: eat healthy on 8/10/2012

    Great for fresh vegetables, fruit and drinks. Since we decided to eat locally and fresh our combo freezer fridge was too small so we bought the second full size fridge for the basement. Works great, no problems and lots of storage space in the door.
  8. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Not impressed.

    By: B on 2/4/2012

    Bought a new house recently that we weren't moving into right away. It didn't have a refrigerator and we needed one when we came to work on the place. Planned to bring our refrigerator with us when we moved, but wanted to have more freezer space after we moved in. This unit worked great as a refrigerator, and being able to convert it to a freezer after we moved made it seem like the perfect solution. We moved into the new house recently. We flipped the switch to freezer, but it remained a refrigerator. Coldest it got on the coldest setting was 35. The repairman said these things only cost about a hundred dollars to build. It will be a week before the part comes in. Like the concept, but only if it works.
  9. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Excellent but very noisy

    By: Peter on 8/29/2011

    Purchased 6 months ago, I'm up to my third full size refrigerator in a little more than 3 years the 2 others (other manufacturers) failed just outside the warranty period. I've not used the freezer option and do not intend to since I needed the full 17 cu Ft. This one's circulating fan is quite noisy (the compressor portion appears not to be). I like the large drawers at the bottom but sadly there is no meat drawer. The shelves could have been adjustable more than that provided in this model, other manufacturers provide fully adjustable shelves in the same price range but not the full refrigerator feature. The temperature inside is quite even and is set to 5 aprrox 34 to 36 deg F. . Would have liked to have rollers to help move the appliance for cleaning purposes without risking damaging the floor covering. Hopefully this one will last more than 2 years.
  10. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Words of caution

    By: only2rayban on 8/25/2011

    Purchased 6 months ago, I'm up to my third full size refrigerator in a little more than 3 years the 2 others (other manufacturers) failed just outside the warranty period. I've not used the freezer option and do not intend to since I needed the full 17 cu Ft. This one's circulating fan is quite noisy (the compressor portion appears not to be). I like the large drawers at the bottom but sadly there is no meat drawer. The shelves could have been adjustable more than that provided in this model, other manufacturers provide fully adjustable shelves in the same price range but not the full refrigerator feature. The temperature inside is quite even and is set to 5 aprrox 34 to 36 deg F. . Would have liked to have rollers to help move the appliance for cleaning purposes without risking damaging the floor covering. Well see if this one last much beyond the warranty period.
  11. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Freezer Issues

    By: Bud on 8/22/2011

    Bought two of these convertible refrigerator/freezers and have owned them for over two years. Liked the design and the ability to switch functions - have them side-by-side in my kitchen. About a year ago, the one I had set as a freezer stopped freezing, but the refrigerator still worked. So, I switched the contents of the two and made the second unit my freezer. Everything was fine until today when its freezer unit also stopped working. Now I have two refrigerators and no freezer. Should be an interesting repair call.
  12. Design
    Features
    Quality
    disapointed

    By: Randy on 7/27/2011

    my freezer/frig is 14 months old, and the freezer quit working. the refrigirator still works hopefully it isn't to expensive to fix later.
  13. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Mr

    By: Stuart on 12/24/2010

    We love our new Frigidaire upright freezer! It has a lot of room for our needs, really like the layout of the various storage compartments, and no sign of frost! The stuff in there is frozen solid, and no freezer burn issues. We also love that it uses less energy than our last freezer! Great buy!
  14. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Quality, versatile product

    By: mooghall on 12/22/2010

    We bought this refrigerator/freezer for extra freezer storage, and it has worked great since we bought it a few months ago. We like that it can be used either as a refrigerator (e.g. for storing fruit) or as a freezer (e.g. for storing meats). We feel it's a great value for the price.
  15. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Convertible Freezer/Refrigerator

    By: Torpedo on 12/21/2010

    We purchased two of these convertible refrigerator/freezer combos, one to use as a freezer and the other as a spare refrigerator. They have been working very well. Set the fridge one notch colder than the factory setting, but left the freezer as set when received. The only problem at this time is with the freezer unit. It makes a louder oscillating fan noise on occasion. Called Frigidaire and had a very qualified service person take a look at it. Of course, the noise refused to happen while he was here. The noise at this time has abated quite a bit on its own. So far, very satisfied.
  16. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Perfect for our needs...

    By: Donna on 12/21/2010

    We needed to replace an VERY old upright freezer and went with this one because of the size. But I also like the fact that I can convert it to a refrigerator if I need to.
  17. Design
    Features
    Quality
    LOVE MY FRIGIDAIRE

    By: Ruth on 12/20/2010

    Wow ya'll did it again, made something I had only dreamed of. I love my new convertible freezer/refrigerator.
  18. Design
    Features
    Quality
    It is a lifesaver

    By: tillafrogg on 12/17/2010

    I wanted a refrigerator that had no freezer attached. It needed to be affordable and had to open to the left. I was caring for my mother and my son in law who were both in wheel chairs. This is the only model that had a covertible door. I also love the way you can arrange the shelves on the door the way that suits me best. I am completely satisfied and I have had my refrigerator for about a year!
  19. Design
    Features
    Quality
    cost less than a standard SXS

    By: Jon-mickel on 12/14/2010

    Purchased 2 of these at our local Sears on sale. Installed them side by side in our kitchen and reversed the door on one of them. set the left one to freezer mode and the right one to fridge mode. Looks like we have a 34cuft SXS with lots of storage....Thanx