MSRP
$279.00

Frigidaire 50 Pint Capacity Dehumidifier

16-1/8" W x 11-5/16" D x 24-3/4" H
FAD504DWD

193 reviews
Plug Type 5-15P

Plug Type 5-15P

Features

Improves Home Environment

Protects your home from mold and mildew caused by excess moisture – and helps eliminate bacteria in the air that can make breathing difficult.

Effortless™ Automatic Shut Off

Unit shuts off automatically when the water tank is almost full.

Effortless™ Humidity Control

Allows you to control the amount of humidity in your room for maximum comfort.

Effortless™ Clean Filter

Our removable, washable filter reduces bacteria, room odors and other airborne particles for a healthier, more comfortable environment.

ENERGY STAR® Certified

Use less energy, reducing your energy usage and ultimately lowering your utility bills.

Effortless™ Full Tank Alert System

Alerts you when your water tank nears capacity and it is time to empty the water bucket.

Effortless™ Continuous Drain Option

Continuously drains your dehumidifier – so you don’t have to empty the water bucket.

Front Loading Bucket with Carrying Handle and Splash Guard

Water bucket is conveniently located in the front of the unit for easy access, while the carry handle and splash guard make emptying your bucket hassle-free.

SpaceWise® Portable Design

Caster wheels and top and side handles make it easy to move your unit from room to room.

Low Temperature Operation

This unit is designed to operate at low temperatures down to 41 °F.

Ready-Select® Controls

Easily select options with the touch of a button.

2 Fan Speeds

Dehumidifies 50 Pints Per Day

Electronic Controls

Specifications

General Specifications

  • Refrigerant: R410a
  • Warranty: 1 Year Full/5 Year Sealed System
  • Shipping Weight (lbs): 41
  • Product Weight (lbs): 37
  • Power Type: Electric
  • Size: N/A
  • Installation Type: Free-Standing
  • Collection: Frigidaire

Controls

  • Auto Shut-Off: Yes
  • Control Location: Top Center
  • Controls: Electronic

Certifications & Approvals

  • ENERGY STAR® Certified: Yes
  • Safety Certification: UL/CUL

Electrical Specifications

  • Amps (Cool): 4.8
  • Horsepower (Cool): 0.71
  • Plug Type: 5-15P
  • Power Cord Length: 6' (6-1/2')
  • Voltage Rating: 115V, 60Hz
  • Watts (Cool): 530

Performance

  • Dehumidification (Liters/Day): 24
  • Dehumidification (Pints/Day): 50

Exterior Specifications

  • Height: 24-3/4"
  • Width: 16-1/8"
  • Depth: 11-5/16"

AC Specifications

  • Air CFM (High): 194
  • Bucket Full Indication: Yes
  • Bucket Style: Front Pull Out
  • Container Capacity (Pints): 16.3
  • Continuous Drain Operation: Yes
  • Digital Humidity Readout: Yes
  • Fan Speed (Fan): 2
  • Filter Access: Bottom Slide-Out
  • Filter Check: Yes
  • Low Temperature Operation: Yes
  • Relative Humidity Range Manual: 35%-85%
  • Noise Level dB (High): 53.3

Guides & Manuals

Complete Owner's Guide

Wiring Diagram

Propietario completa Guía

Guide d'utilisation complet

193 Reviews

Average Rating

Write a review
  1. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Good buy, works well

    By: John on 7/21/2014

    We've had this unit about a month and really like it so far--easy to operate and it made an immediate improvement in the humidity & odor in our basement.
  2. Design
    Features
    Quality
    very effecient

    By: Bill on 7/20/2014

    very easy to use and brings down the humidity quite fast. easy hose attachment unlike others that I've owned.
  3. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Replacement working well

    By: James B on 7/19/2014

    Bought original unit in July 2013, but it failed to work in spring of 2014. Contacted Frigidare to replace. The process was smooth and easy. Received new unit in late June 2014. Plugged it in and it started removing water immediately. Has worked well since. As long as it works next year, I'll be happy.
  4. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Very nice!!

    By: Andy on 7/18/2014

    I couldn't believe how fast it dried up the cellar compared to our old Dehumidifier. I'm not sure the read out of the current humidity level is accurate, but my humistat is old and that could be wrong. This a great Dehumidifier.
  5. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Does the job well

    By: Marilyn on 7/18/2014

    I have only had this unit a short time, but it seems to do a good job taking the moisture out of our basement.
  6. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Does the job!

    By: Roger on 7/17/2014

    Since my 70 pint Frigidaire has worked well in my basement for the past 3 years, I decided to get one for upstairs.
  7. Design
    Features
    Quality
    reliable

    By: homeowner on 7/17/2014

    This model works very well. It's been reliable and running non-stop for a couple weeks without any problems.
  8. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Nice unit, hooked to drain

    By: JeffM on 7/17/2014

    Works well, even better when piped to a drain or condensate pump
  9. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Quality Dehumidifier

    By: Frank on 7/17/2014

    I use these in my warehouse and they work amazing.
  10. Design
    Features
    Quality
    it works

    By: glumpy on 7/17/2014

    good product
  11. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Best so far

    By: Joe on 7/17/2014

    I have gone through numerous dehumidifiers in the past years. So far the Frigidaire unit has performed remarkably compared to unit I have gone through. I have not experienced any frost (ice) buildup on the coils at all at the start of the season which is a first for me.
  12. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Works great

    By: gopherguy on 7/17/2014

    Very quiet and sucks up lots of water. Can't say how well it's been working.
  13. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Works great

    By: Andy on 7/17/2014

    Keeps basement at 50% humidity no problem. Runs quiet and the drain hose design is much better than others that still allow water to sit in the bucket. Removable filter is a plus.
  14. Design
    Features
    Quality
    OK, but.....

    By: N/ A on 7/17/2014

    This new unit is working fine at the present time. It has replaced the same model that I purchased new last year. That unit ran fine all season, but did not dehumidify when I fired it up this spring. If this new one only works for a year, I will lower all my ratings to zero.
  15. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Effectient & Power Saver

    By: Cpassat88 on 7/17/2014

    This unit runs great with low and high fan speed, and the compressor does not go on all the time. Although it would be even better if the fan does stay on a bit longer so that it does not go on and off too frequently.
  16. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Amazing

    By: lisa1162 on 7/17/2014

    Easy to set up. Would be amazing in a basement, but I do not have one. It is a little loud for the living room, but it works so good, I do not need to run it much. I bought this after a couple lesser non-Frigidaire dehumidifiers, and I have been SO happy with it. I set the desired humidity, forget about it for a few day, and it beeps at me when the collection bucket needs to be dumped. The fan has high and low settings if needed.
  17. Design
    Features
    Quality
    it works great

    By: karma on 7/17/2014

    i got this for a completed basement that we had large amounts of water leaking. it helped immensely with the wetness and oder.
  18. Design
    Features
    Quality
    So far so good...

    By: Tim on 7/17/2014

    So far, performance has been excellent. I have been burned by other types of dehumidifiers' longevity (or lack thereof...), but so far I have been very happy with the purchase.
  19. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Dehumidifier

    By: KirkR on 7/17/2014

    The unit does a great job removing moisture out of the air. I like the cleanable filter and the display option that shows the current humidity level.
  20. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Dry Basement

    By: JD on 7/17/2014

    Just set it and forget it! Runs quietly and keeps my basement dry during the summer months.
  21. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Dry Basement

    By: Ric on 7/16/2014

    Quiet running, pulls dampness from basement as advertised. Easy to setup.
  22. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Workhorse

    By: Lyndy on 6/25/2014

    We had water damage in our basement, and so a musty smell. We got this just when it happened and there are tips which come with it to help for just that problem. It's pulling tons of water out of the basement but it doesn't heat up the basement like our last one. The size is perfect for our 30x25 basement (partitioned into rooms). The buttons were a little confusing at first, but then I figured it out. It also beeps to change the filter when there's nothing worth cleaning. But still thrilled!
  23. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Efficient Dehumidifier

    By: Coach D on 6/24/2014

    It's easy to operate and can be adjusted for the level of humidity desired.
  24. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Deserves Its Excellent Reviews

    By: Buffalo Steve on 6/23/2014

    Full-featured Model FAD504DWD operates very quietly in basement. Self-drain feature works flawlessly since unit is located near sump. Previously owned two non-Frigidaire dehumidifiers with electronic controls which failed after three years. Can one hope that this Frigidaire model will perform for 8-10 years before a breakdown, like those of twenty-five years ago when the controls were manual and the compressors were manufactured domestically?
  25. Design
    Features
    Quality
    It just works

    By: Neil on 6/20/2014

    Reliable. It keeps my basement at 45% humidity. I can set it and forget it. Very convenient.
  26. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Review

    By: Dawn on 6/20/2014

    It is very quiet and works well.
  27. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Frigidare FAD504DWD

    By: Corky on 6/19/2014

    Used about 5 weeks now and it is definitely doing it's job in basement. This replaced an older unit that lost freon. I like the lower operating range for use in colder enviroment.
  28. Design
    Features
    Quality
    good review

    By: heidi on 6/19/2014

    "It's amazing" is quite an exaggeration, and a cheap marketing trick. But I am very happy with this dehumidifier. While not quiet (when are they?), it's consistent, does a great job of reducing humidity, and has an easy-to-access filter and reservoir. I did get the extended warranty, just in case. But this baby is SOLID!
  29. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Nice design, quiet performer

    By: HCSTL on 6/19/2014

    So far the unit has performed much better than the old unit it replaced. It is much quieter and easy to empty, and I like the fan that pulls from the front and blows out the top. My only complaint is the darn beeping! It beeps when you empty the tank 8 times, it beeps when you turn it off, it beeps when you do anything.
  30. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Worked good till it didn't

    By: CR on 6/19/2014

    Bought my first unit in April 2013. Worked well all summer. This spring when I tried to use it all it would do is frost up the lower half of the coils. Contacted Frigidaire, since it was still under warranty, and after a little effort was able to get a new unit shipped to a local Frigidaire dealer. The replacement is working fine, so far. Time will tell.
  31. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Return Frigidaire Customer

    By: Richard on 6/19/2014

    This dehumidifier was simple to set up. It runs continuously without any noise or interruption. The nice part about it is that you can program in the percentage of humidity you want to be at so the control is in your hands.
  32. Design
    Features
    Quality
    As advertised

    By: dryguyin basement on 6/19/2014

    So far so good, after one month of use. Old dehu had to be replaced and this new model cleared the musty smell in a couple days. I like the low fan setting for lower noise and keep it at 45%
  33. Design
    Features
    Quality
    great product

    By: b1947 on 6/19/2014

    Very pleased with dehumidifier. Does a good job and easy to maintain
  34. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Great Product

    By: Rick57 on 6/19/2014

    I've been wanting to buy a dehumidifier for our basement for years but it was always low on the priority list but in May 2014 there was a bad storm and we got water in our basement so I bought one to get the basement dried up. i can't believe how good this works. It's very quiet and I love the features especially the front loading bucket.
  35. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Works We'll

    By: Joe on 6/19/2014

    Easy to use,full featured and a good looking unit too.
  36. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Frigidare 50 pint dehumidifier

    By: Vec on 6/19/2014

    No issues so far. Seems to work well in my den.
  37. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Humidity Buster

    By: Ace on 6/19/2014

    So far, so good. Runs smooth and quiet and is well-designed.
  38. Design
    Features
    Quality
    pulls a lot of water from the air

    By: alrom on 6/19/2014

    Has been working well so far. Really pulls a lot of water from the air. Has a timer or runs till desired humidity. Only issue is that the humidity reading is off compared to a real humidity meter. Also can be quite load, and it heats the room up.
  39. Design
    Features
    Quality
    works great

    By: Mike W on 6/19/2014

    This product works really well for removing excess moisture from my apartment.
  40. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Works well

    By: DGB on 6/18/2014

    Keeps the basement nice and dry.
  41. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Does its job

    By: JCCnc on 6/17/2014

    Purchased unit to replace one that was recalled. Quiet. Timer is good feature. Can hear water dripping into the catch bucket. Bucket is not easy to remove or replace. The humidistat is not at all accurate. Have to go by a separate gauge and then set the one on the Frigidaire unit. Does produce a good bit of heat just as most dehumidifiers seem to do.
  42. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Made in China Dehunidifier

    By: quality1 on 6/16/2014

    Purchased a 70 and 50 pint dehumidifier to replace our 40 year old Sears dehumidifiers. These were made from metal and performed very well until one recently failed. Both were replaced with Frigidaire Made in China Dehumidifiers on May 13, 2014. They, like their predecessors were set up on 8 hour per day timers and run at night when the power cost is low. They were easy to set up and run. They run continuously during the 8 hour shift. The 70 pint exit air is a bit colder when compared to the 50 pint. Both are set to continuously drain. Their cabinet design makes it difficult to verify the coldness of the coils. Exit air blows at the top of the unit which is OK for the 70 pint used in the main basement area. The 50 pint is used in a 4 foot high crawl storage space which taxes the exit air distribution. The previous Sears units exit air was linear from the front of the cabinet and posed no air distribution concerns. Compressors are very quiet when compared to the 40 year old Sears units. Checking for coil freeze up is almost impossible. These units were recommended by CR. However, based upon dealer conversations and the issues at hand with the sub-contractor of the dehumidifier to Frigidaire, prognosis is that the reliability of these units will not come even close to that of the Sears units. That is why, extended warranty contract was purchased.
  43. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Solid so far

    By: Paul on 6/15/2014

    A solid performer so far, much quieter than my previous (other manufacturer) unit that was recalled due to potential fire issues(!) Seems to get stuck at 50% humidity and run continuously, still experimenting with the controls in my Midwest basement. Also waiting for the first electric bill with the unit in place to gauge it's efficiency there.
  44. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Amazing Dehumidifier

    By: radunn on 6/15/2014

    A unit that works; didn't expect the temperature increase but that's par for the course; the humid/wet air is removed.
  45. Design
    Features
    Quality
    What a difference!

    By: Alex1453 on 6/14/2014

    Living in an older house (i.e. poorly insulated, old windows, etc.), warmer and more humid weather has always been a disaster: the air conditioners can only do so much. This year, before it got too hot, I decided to take the plunge and buy a dehumidifier to work in tandem with the air conditioners. Overall, I've been amazed with the performance of this product: due to using it, not only do the air conditioners not have to work as hard, but they also don't need to bet set at as low of a temperature. Though the machine is small and doesn't get in the way, the reservoir is still substantial enough (~2 gallons) that you're not having to empty it every couple of hours. This has made life so much more comfortable during the summer, and I would highly recommend it to anyone.
  46. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Puts out heat

    By: Kevin on 6/13/2014

    The unit does a great job at dehumidifying, but at a cost. It puts out a lot of heat. I only use this in warmer weather, so whatever room I put it in is hotter than the rest of the house. It is loud, but that is somewhat expected.
  47. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Works well

    By: sld50 on 6/13/2014

    We have a new house and the unit seems to be taking out quite a bit of moisture. My only complaint is it could be quieter.
  48. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Quiet and efficent

    By: ATL2032 on 6/12/2014

    Replaced another name brand, this unit is more efficent and very quiet compared to old unit. I enjoy that the unit cycles completely off until humidity climbs up to restart, reducing energy $ and noise.
  49. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Good Product

    By: Sam on 6/12/2014

    So far this dehumidifier is running per the solid reviews I read. Got the humidity in my basement down quick and has kept it there -- and quietly.
  50. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Works great!

    By: jdj on 6/12/2014

    Units works great...keeps basement area in Midwest dry during the rainy season.
  51. Design
    Features
    Quality
    working good

    By: jake on 6/12/2014

    very satisfied so far.
  52. Design
    Features
    Quality
    solid machine

    By: CD on 6/12/2014

    great value
  53. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Good Product

    By: AirMaxx on 6/12/2014

    Overall good product...could be a little quieter
  54. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Top notch defumidifier

    By: LowHumidyBob on 6/12/2014

    We had MOLD and we have it not more.
  55. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Satisfied in Michigan

    By: metz on 6/12/2014

    The dehumidifier worked perfectly right out of the bos
  56. Design
    Features
    Quality
    so far so good

    By: playmytune on 6/12/2014

    I purchased this appliance to replace on that was recalled. I like the fact that you can hook up a hose to it so you don't have to always empty the bucket. It's quieter then my last appliance (which was only a couple of years old). This dehumidifier has been running for less then a month and seems to do the job. I would like to be able to give another review after a couple of years.
  57. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Dehumidifier Dealio

    By: Sprissocopter on 6/12/2014

    This dehumidifier is amazing. I live in a sub-level apartment and it was extremely damp and humid. So, I go to my nearby appliance retailer, and roll this baby into my car. Wow! It's light. Wow! It's attractive. Boom-boom-boom, I turn on the humidifier, turn down the humidity, and next thing you know- acka-lacka-lacka-boom - the humidity is GONE. I mean VANISHED. I mean, I don't know where it is (OK, it went in the bucket, and I remove it every night). Don't waste time, buy this NOW!
  58. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Great Machine

    By: oren2014 on 6/12/2014

    We had a water flood about 6 months ago in the basement.....after using this product air quality is so much better and still works great
  59. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Good dehumidifier

    By: john on 6/12/2014

    Works great, much quieter than its predecessor. I am pleased.
  60. Design
    Features
    Quality
    fan

    By: ron on 6/12/2014

    the fan never seems to shut off
  61. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Wonderful, pulls water like mad

    By: Scott on 6/12/2014

    I have a musty basement that has had problems with dampness, and this unit fills with water almost daily. Quiet too, and has a sleek look to it.
  62. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Does what it's supposed to do

    By: John on 6/12/2014

    I have no problems with this dehumidifier, which is more than I can say about my last two (different brands). It works well and I've had no problems with it. In answer to the question on this site, "Would you recommend this product to a friend?" yes I would but the site allows only 2 choices, either "probably not" or "yes, it's amazing," which is absurd! It's not amazing; it has worked well for the 6 weeks that I've had it, as it should, and if Frigidaire considers that to be amazing then they need to re-examine their corporate values.
  63. Design
    Features
    Quality
    A solid product

    By: ant442 on 6/6/2014

    It works well and does the job. I don't know how quiet it is compared to other dehumidifiers but I wouldn't say that it's "quiet". Maybe just not as loud as other.
  64. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Solid Unit

    By: Mark on 5/29/2014

    Unit is well put together and is operating successfully so far.
  65. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Does not lower humidity enough

    By: Ruth on 5/28/2014

    Purchased this to replace a recalled one. The previous one reduced humidity to 35%. This one only to 50% while running constantly. Not good enough.
  66. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Good, so far.

    By: rich327 on 5/22/2014

    Exit air is out the top. Would prefer out the back for use in a crawlspace. This unit is fairly quiet.
  67. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Pleased

    By: NikitasMom on 5/22/2014

    Bought this dehumidifier for my basement after the last dehumidifier was recalled. Love this one, wish I had bought it first. It's quite, efficient, and sleek. May buy another !
  68. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Will wait to see

    By: Dick on 5/22/2014

    I've only had this unit less than one month. My idea of good quality is how well it performs after several years. I purchased based on reviews. So far, so good; however, let's see how it performs 2-3 years from now.
  69. Design
    Features
    Quality
    so far so good

    By: johnfasc on 5/22/2014

    Like the easy set for the humidity level. Don't like the kind of difficult pail pull out/put back and the carry handle when full seems like it will break easily.
  70. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Good Dehumidifier

    By: Good Dehumidifier on 5/15/2014

    Is quiet and runs well
  71. Design
    Features
    Quality
    So far OK

    By: Dennis on 5/15/2014

    This is the fourth Dehumidifier I have had. The last three lasted first one three years, second one two years and third one only one year. Frigidaire has replaced all the defective ones at no cost. I guess I can't complain about that. So far this unit works great. Set at 45 % humidity it fills the bucket in 24 hours or less.
  72. Design
    Features
    Quality
    satisified

    By: Rob on 5/8/2014

    This model is very nice. I had an older version of it previously, but a seal went bad in it after several years. We replaced it with this current model, but it doesn't seem quiet as effective as our older one. Nonetheless, it is keeping our basement dry, it just seems to run a lot more to do it.
  73. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Saving on AC cost.

    By: Sy on 5/3/2014

    Purched 2 units witgib 3 months to cover 1800 sq. feet area.
  74. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Best Dehumifier on Market

    By: KA on 2/26/2014

    I looked at a lot of reviews and units. This is by far the best. Easy to use and backed by a great name. I would only buy this brand.
  75. Design
    Features
    Quality
    humidifier in basement

    By: troswalt on 2/6/2014

    I have mine on a timer running 4 hours per day and it works great.
  76. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Keeping us dry!

    By: Straughanman on 1/30/2014

    This dehumidifier works like a champ.
  77. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Didn't Work

    By: Matt on 1/6/2014

    Unit never worked correctly. Would constantly run w/o shutting off. Frigidaire did offer to refund the purchase price of the unit..
  78. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Don't buy

    By: Sharon on 12/31/2013

    Lasted less than a year!
  79. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Frigidaire Dehumidifier

    By: Eddie on 12/29/2013

    I enjoy this product alot because of its price and features. It takes the smell or mold out of the basement and lowers the humidity in the room at a comfortable 4o relatively humidity range. I would recommend this to another homeowner or renter anytime. The financing is a great feature too.
  80. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Works Great

    By: Stephen Y on 12/27/2013

    Only had the unit for a couple of months, but it has worked great so far! Highly recommend!
  81. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Dehumidifier

    By: Bru on 12/26/2013

    Perfect for our small basement! If you can hook up drainage via a hose to sump or other outlet, then even better. Minimal maintenance. A great buy!
  82. Design
    Features
    Quality
    So Far So Good

    By: Mo on 12/24/2013

    We'd originally purchased a little smaller Frigidaire dehumidifier unit in May, but had trouble with the condenser freezing up in less than 90 days. We were impressed with Frigidaire's guarantee policy, and decided to try another unit. Thus far, there have been no problems with this unit.
  83. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Good Porduct so far

    By: John on 12/18/2013

    This is my second Frigidaire dehumidifier. I bought one that and it lasted about 2 years and I was disappointed when it quit. Something seemed to rust apart that looks like a sensor. I bought another after reading reviews in CR. So far it has worked great. the water bucker handle fell off soon after I had it and I was sent a new one. Perhaps not sturdy enough for a full bucket of water. I hope it last as one I had yeas ago that lasted for 20 years (Oasis I think it was.). I would buy it again so far.
  84. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Great product

    By: Roy on 12/17/2013

    Works great to keep the humidity low in my basement.
  85. Design
    Features
    Quality
    The Awsome Dehumidifier

    By: Tom R--R on 12/17/2013

    I live in the Southeast and learned quickly that a basement house here just has to have a good functioning dehumidifier in the basement to control the mildew. My first Frigidaire was purchased in the early 80's and lasted about 10 years. That first unit really worked great and ended-up at the dump because it didn't have a filter and I didn't clean out the intake. My second unit was a bit smaller (I saved a few $) but the savings wasn't worth it, I was constantly dumping the water bucket because the unit was too small for the area I was controlling. Even though it was smaller than the first, it still lasted more than 10 years Being a little older now, it is harder to get up and down the steps to the basement so I splurged this past year and bought the larger, 50 pint unit and it is working just as good as the earlier ones and is saving my back. I try to keep my basement at a little less than 40% humidity and this year I purchased a humidity and found that my unit was actually getting 37% or 38% when it was set at 45%, the only thing I have found lacking in the unit.
  86. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Humidifier

    By: Homeowner on 12/17/2013

    The humidifier does a good job of removing moisture from our basement.
  87. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Would buy again.

    By: Jim on 12/17/2013

    Easy to use. Easy to set for humidity Also two speeds makes for less times to empty.
  88. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Very loud buzz!

    By: Drake on 12/16/2013

    Seems to work very well, but it's really loud.
  89. Design
    Features
    Quality
    content

    By: holden on 12/16/2013

    this product has worked wondefully. so happy i made this purchase back in the summer!
  90. Design
    Features
    Quality
    dehumidifier

    By: todd on 12/16/2013

    this dehumidifier has done everything it was described to do..no questions asked
  91. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Short life

    By: Jim on 10/20/2013

    The unit failed after just 4 months, and this was a replacement for another unit that failed after only 3 years. My old unit was over 30 years old, so it is disappointing to have 2 new units fail in 4 years.
  92. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Love the features

    By: Tim on 10/2/2013

    The handle to carry the water reservoir away is very nice. Only thing I don't like is that it does not seem to have a humidity range. When it stops after bringing the humidity down it starts right back up again. Thus starting and stopping frequently. That gets annoying. As a result it seems to run much more than necessary.
  93. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Works Great!

    By: Dave on 10/2/2013

    This model works well in our humid basement. Frigidaire made some improvements over our previous model. That one had served us well for a few years until the compressor died. (Covered by the warranty.) I was pleased to see Frigidaire did not get caught up too badly in the recent CPSC dehumidifier recall.
  94. Design
    Features
    Quality
    It Works!

    By: JJ on 10/2/2013

    It does the job. We no longer have a sauna in the basement! And it's pretty quiet. Heat and humidity in our area can be unbearable, we have a stone foundation - and this adds up to much humidity in the basement. Plugged it in, ran a hose to the outlet for continuous drain and in no time at all the humidity dropped from unbelievable to comfortable. Recommend this unit.
  95. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Bad,do not buy

    By: di on 10/1/2013

    Failed first day.
  96. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Dehumidifier

    By: Kris on 9/29/2013

    I am pleased with the performance of the dehumidifier. I got this as a replacement for my old one which quit working after two years. I got a refund for the first one since it was covered by Frigidaire.
  97. Design
    Features
    Quality
    GETS THE JOB DONE

    By: JB on 9/26/2013

    My new Frigidaire 50-pint dehumidifier seems to be operating perfectly since I got it as a replacement for a similar one I had a couple years. This one is more modern and easy to move around in my good-sized basement. I was very pleased with the replacement procedure Frigidaire has in place for my area as my prior unit was failing to draw water and was still under warranty. Everyone I talked to was super nice, which was a pleasant surprise as I am more used to running into dead ends and uncooperative representatives.
  98. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Frigidaire 50 Pint Dehumidifier

    By: Curt on 9/25/2013

    This unit works great. I like the fact that it shuts off automatically when you remove the holding tank to empty it. Some units that we have owned keep running for a few minutes after the holding tank is removed.
  99. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Goodbye moisture

    By: bearmstead on 9/25/2013

    This product is wonderful, removes moisture and smells in my basement. Finally I can be comfortable in the basement.
  100. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Quiet and efficient.

    By: BostonEngineer on 9/25/2013

    My previous FAD504DUD failed after 4 months of service but Frigidaire was great and reimbursed me for full credit, so I purchased the newer FAD504DWD in its place. It has been running now pretty constantly for 3 months and is very quiet and efficient. I would give it five stars if the old one was still running.
  101. Design
    Features
    Quality
    works like a charm

    By: Dragonlady on 9/25/2013

    I love Frigidaire dehumidifiers. This is the 3rd Frigidaire50-pint dehumidifier I have in 3 years. I hope this one lasts for more than a year. Only time will tell.
  102. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Dehumidifier

    By: Heidi on 9/24/2013

    Light weight and very easy to set up. Keeps my basement very dry.
  103. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Not too reliable

    By: George on 9/24/2013

    The warranty is pretty good, but it needs to be. I've had this unit replaced under warranty twice now. The last time it cost me $50 to have the old one "recycled" as the original dealer had discontinued this item. Last week I needed to check the date code on the unit to see if it was involved a recall of 2 million units (?) for possible fire hazards. Fortunately, my unit was outside the suspect range. I have several reasons why I can't recommend this unit.
  104. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Dehumidiifer review

    By: Rod on 9/24/2013

    The 50 pint dehumidifier keeps our basement dry and very comfortable which is very important since my office is in the basement.
  105. Design
    Features
    Quality
    good product

    By: Tom on 9/24/2013

    This is my second Dehumidifier -- replaced identical model that simply would not work after the winter off season. Frigidaire replaced it with no problem. Second unit is working very well. It is quiet, efficient, and easy to operate. I recommend this model.
  106. Design
    Features
    Quality
    Ross

    By: Ross on 9/24/2013

    Great product for basement
  107. Design
    Features
    Quality
    OK but needs improving!

    By: Bpb on 9/10/2013

    I would rate the overall quality and features of this model as just OK. There are definitely areas for improvement. First, unlike other comparable units, this one only has a "low" and "high" fan speed, no "medium." What I noticed first was the somewhat shoddy construction. The plastic panels do not fit together smoothly and seamlessly. What really bothers me about this unit is the very noticeable hum when the compressor is running. Others in reviews commented that this was a quiet unit, but I don't think so. The single reason I chose it over other units was because the other makes got even worse reliability ratings than this one. I hate buying these small appliances only to have the compressors go out after 6 months to a year.